Illinois Department of Transportation, Ann L. Schneider, Secretary
Loading
Patrick J. Quinn, Governor
Traveling PublicMapsProjectsRoad ClosuresNewsDoing BusinessLetting & BiddingCareers@IDOTGeneral Info


Highway Construction Careers Training Program
Illinois Community College Board, HCCTP Project Director: Tod Rowe
Contact Information: 217-785-5003 or
tod.rowe@illinois.gov
IDOT Contact Information - Ron Brown

The Illinois Department of Transportation, through the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB), has established a Highway Construction Careers Training Program through the following community colleges.

“Each community college holds one to five pre-apprenticeship training sessions per year in which minorities, women and disadvantaged individuals receive 450 hours of intensive training in highway construction-related skills, e.g. math for the trades, job readiness, technical skills coursework (carpentry, concrete flatwork, blueprint reading, site plans, site work, tools use, etc.) and OSHA 10 certification.”

Participating Community Colleges

District 1: Dawson Technical of Kennedy King College - Chicago, IL  
Contact: Shoshiwa Mabina (773) 451-2082 smabina@ccc.edu
       
  South Suburban College  
  Rebecca Garcia (708) 225-5822 RGarcia@ssc.edu
       
District 2: Rock Valley College - Rockford, IL    
Contact: Scott Abbott (815) 921-3912 s.abbott@rockvalleycollege.edu
       
  Black Hawk College  
  Julie Gelaude (309) 796-5715 Gelaudej@bhc.edu
       
District 3: Kankakee Community College - Kankakee, IL    
Contact: John Willard (815) 802-8205  jwillard@kcc.edu
       
District 4: Illinois Central College - Peoria, IL    
Contact: Ellen George (309) 690-6909 egeorge@icc.edu
       
District 5: Parkland College - Champaign, IL    
Contact: RJ Rowland (217) 353-2122 rrowland@parkland.edu
       
District 6: Lincoln Land Community College - Springfield, IL  
Contact: Tom Spears (217) 786-3675 thomas.spears@llcc.edu
       
District 7: Lake Land College - Mattoon, IL    
Contact: Cindy Shupe (217) 235-0361 cshupe@lakeland.cc.il.us
       
District 8: Southwestern Illinois College - East St. Louis, IL  
Contact: Melissa Snelson (618) 874-6528 melissa.snelson@swic.edu
       
District 8: Lewis & Clark Community College - Godfrey, IL  
Contact: Jeremy Elledge (618) 468-4149  jelledge@lc.edu
       
District 9: John A. Logan College - Carterville, IL    
Contact: Mark Etters (618) 985-2828 mark.etters@jalc.edu

Program Goal
To increase the total number of historically underutilized individuals working on Illinois Department of Transportation highway construction projects.

Job Placement Opportunities
Each college will assist trainees to become placed into Illinois’ highway construction trade unions, apprenticeship programs and/or with IDOT highway construction contractors.

The Illinois Department of Transportation, the Illinois Community College Board and the participating community colleges do not guarantee employment upon a trainees’ graduation from the Highway Construction Careers Training Program.

Highway Construction Careers Training Program Update
 
           
  Starters  Completers Placement Current Enrollees Current/Next Class Dates
City Colleges/Dawson Technical Institute 116 97 43 12 3/24/14 to 6/14/14
           
South Suburban College 30     30 2/18/14 to 5/9/14
           
Rock Valley College 98 74 3 11 3/3/14 to 5/23/14
           
Black Hawk College 29     29 2/24/14 to 5/21/14
           
Kankakee Community College 124 86 22 14 3/3/14 to 5/23/14
           
Illinois Central College 163 121 29 12 3/3/14 to 5/23/14
           
Parkland College 148 120 32 12 3/17/14 to 6/4/14
           
Lincoln Land Community College 180 140 25 14 1/21/14 to 6/5/14
           
Lake Land College 117 98 9 13 3/3/14 to 5/23/14
           
Southwestern Illinois College (SWIC)* 114 91 23 8 1/6/14 to 4/4/14
           
Lewis & Clark Community College 99 65 10 11 1/13/14 to 5/2/14 
           
John A. Logan College 188 126 33 22 2/3/14 to 4/25/14
           
Total:  1406 1018 229 188  
           
*This report does not reflect participants of the SWIC program prior to June 1, 2011.      

 


IDOT Privacy Statement | Illinois Privacy Information | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility  | FOIA