Illinois Department of Transportation, Ann L. Schneider, Secretary
Loading
Patrick J. Quinn, Governor
Traveling PublicMapsProjectsRoad ClosuresNewsDoing BusinessLetting & BiddingCareers@IDOTGeneral Info


The Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act

Revised Effective January 1, 2004

REQUIREMENTS:

    When any person is transporting a child in
    this State under the age of 8 years in a
    non-commercial motor vehicle of the first
    division, a motor vehicle of the second
    division with a gross vehicle weight rating
    of 9,000 pounds or less, or a recreational
    vehicle on the roadways, streets or
    highways of this State, such person shall
    be responsible for providing for the
    protection of such child by properly
    securing him or her in an appropriate
    child restraint system.


    The parent or legal guardian of a child
    under the age of 8 years shall provide a
    child restraint system to any person
    who transports his or her child.

    For the purposes of this Section, "child
    restraint system" means any device which
    meets the standards of the United States
    Department of Transportation designed to
    restrain, seat or position children, which
    also includes a booster seat.

    Every person, when transporting a child 8
    years of age or older but under the age of
    16, shall be responsible for properly
    securing that child in seat belts.

    Every person under the age of 18 years,
    when transporting a child 8 years of age or
    older but under the age of 18 years, shall
    be responsible for securing that child in a
    properly adjusted and fastened seat safety
    belt or an appropriate child restraint
    system.


EXEMPTIONS:


    A child weighing more than 40 pounds may
    be transported in the back seat of a motor
    vehicle while wearing only a lap belt if the
    back seat of the motor vehicle is not
    equipped with a combination lap and
    shoulder belt.

VIOLATIONS:

    Any person who transports the child of
    another shall not be in violation of this
    Section unless a child restraint system was
    provided by the parent or legal guardian
    but not used to transport the child.

    In no event shall a person's failure to
    secure a child under 8 years of age in an
    approved child restraint system constitute
    contributory negligence or be admissible
    as evidence in the trial of any civil action.

    A violation of this Act is a petty offense
    punishable by a fine of not more than $50
    waived upon proof of possession of an
    approved child restraint system as defined
    under this Act.

    A subsequent violation of this Act is a petty
    offense punishable by a fine of not more
    than $100. For further information please call:
    toll free (877) 581-5881 (217) 785-3038
IDOT Privacy Statement | Illinois Privacy Information | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility  | FOIA